Currie Cup - Lions vs Bulls on 6 January 2021

January 6, 2021 - The match was played at Loftus on Wednesday 6 January 2021, kick-off was at 16:00 SA Time.

The Lions opened the scoring in the 2nd minute with a penalty by Tiaan Swanepoel, to go 3-0 up.

He added another two penalties, in the 15th and 18th minutes, to make it 9-0 for the Lions.

Chris Smith then kicked 4 penalties, in the 23rd, 26th, 34th and 40th minutes, to put the Bulls in a 12-9 lead at half time.

In the 45th minute, Embrose Papier scored the only try of the match. It came from a Bulls scrum 5 metres from the Lions try-line, the Lions scrum was under pressure and Vermeulen picked the ball up at the back and in the tackle passed to Papier, who then beat the tackle of Orie and Dan Kriel to dot down. Smith added the conversion to make it 19-12 for the Bulls.

Tiaan Swanepoel kicked a 55+ metre penalty in the 66th minute to make it 19-15.

The final points in the match came from a penalty by Morne Steyn in the 78th minute, to give the Bulls the 22-15 win.


Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
AR1: AJ Jacobs
AR2: Paul Mente
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen


Bulls: 15. David Kriel, 14. Jade Stighling, 13. Marnus Potgieter, 12. Jay-Cee Nel, 11. Stravino Jacobs, 10. Chris Smith, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Duane Vermeulen (capt), 7. Elrigh Louw, 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Jan Uys, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Schalk Erasmus, 1. Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16. Johan Grobbelaar, 17. Jacques van Rooyen, 18. Marcel van der Merwe, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Ivan van Zyl, 21. Morné Steyn, 22. Arno Botha, 23. Tim Agaba.

Lions: 15. Tiaan Swanepoel; 14. Stean Pienaar, 13. Burger Odendaal, 12. Dan Kriel, 11. Courtnall Skosan; 10. Elton Jantjies (captain), 9. André Warner; 8. Len Massyn, 7. Vincent Tshituka, 6. Marnus Schoeman, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Willem Alberts, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Jaco Visagie, 1. Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16. Jan-Henning Campher, 17. Ruan Dreyer, 18. Sti Sithole, 19. Reinhard Nothnagel, 20. Wilhelm van der Sluys, 21. Ross Cronjé, 22. Wandisile Simelane, 23. Francke Horn


Bulls: 22 (12): Tries: Embrose Papier. Conversions: Chris Smith. Penalties: Chris Smith(4), Morné Steyn.

Lions: 15 (9): Tries: Conversions: Penalties: Tiaan Swanepoel(5).

“Forwards win games, backs decide by how much.”