Match Report - Super Rugby match - Sharks vs Lions on 25 May 2019

May 25, 2019 - The match was played in Durban on Saturday 25 May 2019, and kicked off at 17:15pm SA Time.

The teams were pretty even in the first quarter, but then in the 18th minute the Sharks took the lead when Elton Jantjies tried an inside pass on the halfway line that was intercepted by Curwin Bosch, who then ran in a 50 metre try, and also kicked the conversion, to put the Sharks up 7-0.

The Sharks increased their lead with a try by Dan du Preez from a maul, also converted by Bosch, to go up 14-0 after 25 minutes.

Lionel Mapoe then scored for the Lions when he ran a good angle and took a pass from Elton Jantjies close to the Sharks try-line. Jantjies converted to make it 14-7, which was also the score at the break.

Cyle Brink then scored for the Lions ten minutes after half time and Jantjies converted to make it 14-all. Just four minutes later Curwin Bosch kicked a penalty to put the Sharks in the lead at 17-14.

Six minutes later the Lions were on the attack on the Sharks try-line, when Elton Jantjies threw another pass that was intercepted, this time by Makazole Mapimpi, who ran in the try thatwas also converted by Bosch, to make it 24-14 for the Sharks. Jantjies and Bosch then each added a penalty to make the final score 27-17 for the Sharks.


Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
AR1: Cwengile Jadezweni
AR2: Stefan Geldenhuys
TMO: Christie du Preez


Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder (captain), 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Mzamo Majola
Replacements: 16 Dylan Richardson, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Kobus van Wyk

Lions: 15. Andries Coetzee; 14. Courtnall Skosan, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Aphiwe Dyantyi; 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom; 8. Kwagga Smith (Capt), 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Marnus Schoeman, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Johannes Jonker, 2. Jan-Henning Campher, 1. Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16. Pieter Jansen, 17. Sti Sithole, 18. Carlu Sadie, 19. Reinhard Nothnagel, 20. Vincent Tshituka, 21. Hacjivah Dayimani, 22. Shaun Reynolds, 23. Tyrone Green


Sharks: 27 (14): Tries: Curwin Bosch, Dan du Preez, Makazole Mapimpi. Conversions: Curwin Bosch (3). Penalties: Curwin Bosch (2).

Lions: 17 (7): Tries: Lionel Mapoe, Cyle Brink. Conversions: Elton Jantjies (2) Penalties: Elton Jantjies.