Match Report - Super Rugby match - Brumbies vs Lions on 13 April 2019

April 13, 2019 - The match was played in Canberra on Saturday 13 April 2019, and kicked off at 11:45pm SA Time.

The Lions drew first blood after just five minutes in the match when Elton Jantjies exploited space on offer and sent Aphiwe Dyantyi over for the try. Unfortunately their lead was short-lived as the Brumbies then scored the next three tries, by Lachlan McCaffrey, Toni Pulu and Tevita Kuridrani, to put the Brumbies in a 19-8 lead at half time.

In the second half the Lions again scored the 1st try when Elton Jantjies picked up a loose ball and ran in the try, but again the Brumbies answered with a try by Thomas Banks and then another by Tom Wright, with Sylvian Mahuza scoring the final try of the match, which was not enough to prevent the Lions from losing their first match on tour, going down 20-31 to the Brumbies.


Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
AR1: Brendon Pickerill
AR2: Mike Fraser
TMO: James Leckie


Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Tom Wright, 11 Toni Pulu, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Pete Samu, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 James Slipper, 18 Leslie Leulua'iali'i-Makin, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Jahrome Brown, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Irae Simone, 23 Andy Muirhead.

Lions: 15. Andries Coetzee; 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Franco Naude, 11. Aphiwe Dyantyi; 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom; 8. Hacjivah Dayimani, 7. Stephan Lewies, 6. Cyle Brink, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Rhyno Herbst, 3. Johannes Jonker, 2. Malcolm Marx (Capt), 1. Nathan McBeth.
Replacements: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Sti Sithole, 18. Carlu Sadie, 19. Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20. Marnus Schoeman, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Gianni Lombard, 23. Sylvian Mahuza.


Brumbies: 31 (19): Tries: Lachlan McCaffrey, Toni Pulu, Tevita Kuridrani, Thomas Banks, Tom Wright. Conversions: Christian Lealiifano (3).

Lions: 20 (8): Tries: Aphiwe Dyantyi, Elton Jantjies, Sylvian Mahuza. Conversions: Elton Jantjies Penalties: Elton Jantjies