Match Report - Super Rugby match - Lions vs Bulls on 2 March 2019

March 2, 2019 - The match was played at Ellis Park on Saturday 2 March 2019, and kicked off at 15:05pm SA Time.

The Bulls pack was bigger and heavier than the Lions pack, and they employed tactics that suited their strength, where they starved the Lions of possession and dominated with their forwards, and also put the Lions under pressure with well-directed up-and-unders. The Bulls ended up having 70% of the ball in the 1st half, and this allowed them to go into a 14-0 lead at the break, from a try by Duane Vermeulen and 3 penalties by Handre Pollard.

Early in the 2nd half the Bulls extended their lead with another penalty from Pollard to go 17-0 up, before Carlu Sadie scored the 1st try for the Lions. Pollard added another two penalties, before Dylan Smith added the 2nd try for the Lions under the poles, with Jantjies adding the conversion, to make it 23-12.

The Lions then made a huge mistake when they took a quick line-out in their own 22, where the pass found a Bulls player, and the Bulls quickly moved the ball wide to the left where Gelant scored in the corner. Pollard added the difficult conversion to make it 30-12, which was also the final score.


Referee: Paul Williams
AR1: Cwengile Jadezweni
AR2: Griffon Colby
TMO: Marius Jonker


Lions: 15. Andries Coetzee; 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Aphiwe Dyantyi; 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom; 8. Hacjivah Dayimani, 7. Marnus Schoeman, 6. Kwagga Smith, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Rhyno Herbst, 3. Carlu Sadie, 2. Malcolm Marx (Capt), 1. Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16. Pieter Jansen, 17. Sti Sithole, 18. Frans van Wyk, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Vincent Tshituka, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Franco Naude, 23. Courtnall Skosan.

Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jessie Kriel, 12 Dylan Sage, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Handré Pollard (Capt), 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Hanro Liebenberg, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Jannes Kirsten, 20 Tim Agaba, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw.


Lions: 12 (0): Tries: Carlu Sadie, Dylan Smith. Conversions: Elton Jantjies (1).

Bulls: 30 (14): Tries: Duane Vermeulen, Warrick Gelant. Conversions: Handre Pollard (1). Penalties: Handre Pollard (6).