Match Report - Super Rugby warmup match - Sharks vs Lions on 3 February 2019

February 3, 2019 - The match was played in Cape Town on Sunday 3 February 2019 as part of a double header, and kicked off at 2pm.

The first try in the match came from a mistake by the Lions when they shifted the ball down the backline, and Shaun Reynolds tried to just tap the ball to the player on his outside, but it went forward and into the hands of Mapimpi, who had enough pace to run in for the try. Bosch converted to give the Sharks a 7-0 lead after 26 minutes.

Ten minutes later the Lions evened the score with a power try by Marx, it came from a Lions line-out close to the Sharks try-line, where Kwagga Smith quickly broke away from the maul and then set up a ruck, where the ball then went to Marx who broke two tackles and powered his way over for the try. Jantjies converted to make it 7-7, which was also the score at the break.

The Lions scored first after the break, it came from a backline move of the Lions deep inside the Sharks 22, and with about 3 or 4 players on his outside, but a defender cutting him off, Jantjies kicked a grubber that was picked up by Skosan that dived over for the try in the left corner. Jantjies missed the conversion, but the Lions were now in the lead after 50 minutes in the match.

Shortly afterwards the Sharks levelled the scores again by another power try by Akker van der Merwe, who powered his way over from close range to score in the left corner. Bosch kicked the conversion to make it 14-12 for the Sharks.

The Lions scored their 3rd try from a Sharks mistake, Rhyno Smith dropped a pass from Lukhanyo Am and Mahuza quickly picked up the ball and sprinted 50 metres for the try, converted by Jantjies to make it 19-14 for the Lions with 15 minutes to play. Both teams gave the ball air in the last 15 minutes, but the final score was 19-14 to the Lions.


Referee: Jaco Peyper


Sharks: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 S’bu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder (c), 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Luke Stringer, 21 Wian Vosloo, 22 Phepsi Buthelezi, 23 Cameron Wright, 24 Rhyno Smith, 25 Jeremy Ward, 26 Aphelele Fassi.

Lions: 15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Courtnall Skosan, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Warren Whiteley (Capt), 7. Hacjivah Dayimani, 6. Kwagga Smith, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Ruan Vermaak, 3. Carlu Sadie, 2. Malcolm Marx, 1. Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16. Pieter Jansen, 17. Danie Minnie, 18. Frans Van Wyk, 19. Jacobie Adriaanse, 20. Marnus Schoeman, 21. Dillon Smit, 22. Shaun Reynolds, 23. Sylvian Mahuza, 24. Ruan Combrinck, 25. Vincent Tshituka, 26. Rhyno Herbst.


Sharks: 14 (7): Tries: Mapimpi, Van der Merwe. Conversions: Bosch (2)

Lions 19 (7): Tries: Marx, Skosan, Mahuza. Conversions: Jantjies (2)